3 Things VR Taught Me About The Future

I enjoyed my VR deep dive this past week. The biggest thing I learned is simple...

VR has been one of those technologies that you want to try but you don't really want to use.

I've seen pretty much nobody have a VR headset and use it on daily basis.

Think of the way we keep smartphones on us at all times. Or even how pretty much every office job requires a nice laptop.

VR is nowhere like that.

But when you're walking through the mall and you see some random booth with a VR headset doing demos, you've got to try it once.

Like you, that's pretty much been the extent of my interactions with the "metaverse"...

until a few weeks ago.

I decided it was time to stop being an old-head and see what all the hypes about.

So I played VR...or is it traveled to VR...I don't know...but I was in the metaverse VR world thingy a lot the last few weeks.

And I learned a lot about the future.

Here they are in no particular order.

  1. The future happens very slowly, and then all at once.

VR is not as new as we think. It's been around for a little while now.

Most people have never come across a VR headset but they'd be surprised to know that some companies are on their 4th and 5th generation headsets.

By the time the majority of people will understand and try a VR headset it'll be many more generations in.

That's like encountering a smartphone for the first time and it's the iPhone 8.

New technologies are always being developed and worked on, you just have to join the right communities to find them.

By the time companies start running billion dollar commercial campaigns, it's going to feel like that new tech is everywhere.

If you want to be a part of new technological innovations and build the future, be early.

The second thing that I learned about the future is something we've all experienced but rarely truly understand.

2. Children are the future.

Every single major revolutionary technology or world changing idea has to get adoption from children first.

When I was in the metaverse, it was fun to meet new people or try cool simulation type games.

But every single game, app, experience, or world that I went to was flooded with young kids.

I thought it was hilarious that I struggled for hours to setup my VR headset but some of these kids did it all on their own.

That's when it hit me. Kids are the best learners the world has to offer.

And kids have no preconceived notions that hold them back from trying new things.

As kids the world is literally one big unfamiliar game. The older we get, the more influences and experiences dictate our routines, opinions and ultimately our understanding of the world.

Kids don't haven't been pressured by society to hate VR yet. So they don't mind trying it.

Kids are the beta testers for all new tech.

It was like that for our parents with radio or television.

It was like that for us with the internet and Facebook.

It was like that for younger kids with Snapchat and Tiktok.

And it's like that for the current beta testers and VR.

The future is so obvious and so oblivious at the same time.

I enjoyed my VR deep dive this past week. The biggest thing I learned is simple...

3. Don't be afraid of the future, be afraid of not being apart of it.

Because the only direction we're headed...

In progress,

Tim

Reply

or to participate.