Why Doing Hard Things Can No Longer Be Optional

Why on Earth would you torment your body to something that was so punishing? One reason...

I'll be honest, writing this email feels so tough and uncomfortable right now.

I'm staring at the blank page and wondering, how on earth am I going to put something together that truly adds value to others.

It feels impossible.

I usually write early in the day so that I can give others inspiration for the day ahead of them.

But today I've been delaying this email on and on and on.

I can't do it.

At least that's what my mind is telling me.

But I will do it.

That's what past me told myself.

And as I sat comfortably in my bed watching Youtube videos, I stumbled upon a video from the algorithm gods that seemed perfect for me.

I came across a video by Fergus Crawley titled "I took on a 7.6km Swim / 375km Bike / 85km Run / 8000m+"

Almost in a sick twisted my lazy body laid in bed while my mind demanded I watch this video of pure hustle and willpower.

Fergus went out of his way to find one of the toughest Iron Man races in the world and decided he would double it.

He's a mad man!

Why on Earth would you torment your body to something that was so punishing?

He never explained why he chose to do this crazy fitness challenge.

As I'm sitting here watching the video, I'm sure that he'll quit.

Swimming in ice cold water in the snowy mountains.

His bike completely breaking down 2-3 half iron man laps in...

Twice.

Falling asleep on his bike going downhill and almost dying.

And all he emphasizes is that he just has to keep putting one step in front of the other.

I now know why he chose to embark on this challenge and why we all should do the same.

He did because he said he would.

His body will do what he his mind says, not the other way around.

We should all be trying to do tough things often.

When we push ourselves to complete big challenges, it stretches us into better versions of ourselves.

We will never know how far we can go until we get up and take one step.

It's okay to be pushed back.

It's okay to be fed up.

It's okay to be broken down and think there's no way forward.

It's okay to look down a path and see pain, depression, fear, and hurt but still choose to push through.

We can do anything we put our mind to but we have to get up and prove it to ourselves.

As I write these words, I know that words mean nothing when we're not willing to put actions behind them...

...no matter how tough the actions are.

To me, these words I write aren't words. They are me taking action. No matter how small.

To show myself that I can do hard things.

And I hope they remind you that you can...

In progress,

Tim Lightwork

Reply

or to participate.