How to Make the Most of Your Darkest Moments

Those low moments will always feel like drowning in slow motion. Here's how to float...

In life, we're all working towards the same things.

Some people really want to be rich so they can buy whatever they want.

Others just want to have freedom so they can travel and explore this big beautiful Earth.

And we'll all wish to have more time so we can spend it with loved ones.

We all want peace, love, and happiness for ourselves and the people that we care about.

So we go to school to learn in-demand skills.

We get a job to provide for our families.

And we try to start cool side hustles so one day we can make money in our sleep.

All we want is a better life each and every day that we wake.

Sadly, that's never how things go.

Actually, let's say fortunately that's never how things go.

Instead, we end up failing one key exam and our entire schooling career gets pushed back by a year.

Instead, the job we love randomly lays us off because, "things aren't going well."

Or even scarier, right before we're given a promotion, we get a call from family and we have to travel back home to care for our parents.

Life is truly the best pitcher. Because no amount of practice will prepare you for it's curveballs.

Those low moments will always feel like drowning in slow motion.

But there is value in the dark moments if you learn how to find it.

When most people are put in tough moments they do one of three things...

We deny it.

There's no way I got fired.

There's no way I have cancer when I was just playing basketball yesterday.

There's no way my girlfriend is cheating on me. I refuse to believe it!

That's not helpful.

Denial will only delay the growth you're destined to have.

Instead of denying we should take the time to be realistic.

What exactly is happening?

I'm fired from job, but what does that actually mean?

The world doesn't hate me, I still have the skills I've perfected, and I might be able to get a good referral.

I just have to use my work time to apply to new jobs.

Although it may feel like it, my life hasn't just flipped upside down.

Another thing we do in dark moments is put on a brave face.

When I'm sad about getting my heart broken, I act like I'm big and macho.

My friends can never see me cry.

That's sad.

You shouldn't feel like you have to be the goofy, happy-go-lucky version of yourself all the time.

This is just hiding the emotions that you truly feel deep down.

And there's no better way to get through an emotional event, than feeling your emotions.

If you're really sad, take the weekend to watch sad movies, get tissues, eat ice cream, and cry your heart out.

It will help you move through your emotions rather than running away from them.

Emotions are built into the human experience for a reason. Use them.

Just never get stuck in them.

And lastly, we love to blame others.

Aww man this is the worst.

I got fired because my coworker messed up our team project.

My moms health is going down the drain because Dunkin Donuts keeps putting so much sugar in her coffee.

My finances are never in order because I'm not being paid enough. Screw you big corporations!

These phrases might feel good in the moment, but there is zero growth that comes from it.

If there is anything you learn about how to navigate life's low moments, let it be this...

Every low moment has a lesson. But you will never find that lesson pointing at others.

You have to look within.

If the world is crashing around you, your only true savior is yourself.

Write down how things happened, what actions led to this, and what you can do to improve it.

In your lowest moments, you have to be your number one supporter.

Dark moments are bound to happen.

Focus on the facts, embrace your emotions, and look within.

That's how you make the most of your darkest...

In progress,

Tim

Reply

or to participate.