Never Get A REAL Job...Here's why...

I stood in defiance. I told my parents, "I'm not getting a job...

As we grow up, society encourages us... TO GET A REAL JOB.

Our parents, our teachers, and even our friends put unspoken pressure on us to get a job and make some money.

I understand it.

If you get too comfortable in life, it's easy to think there's always going to be someone to give you a handout.

Our parents give us a home to sleep in for at least 6,570 days.

You wake up each day and there's a big yellow 'tour' bus outside that conveniently takes you to and from school.

On your birthday or at the end of every year you get all the things you've wanted... if you begged enough.

Life is easy. Why get up and try?

That's a dangerous mindset to have so it's important to cultivate drive, ambition, and discipline in young teens.

But the reality is, all it takes is one bad job to ruin a lifetime of happiness.

And happiness isn't a guarantee, so I had to protect mine with all my heart.

I stood in defiance. I told my parents, "I'm not getting a job...

…for money."

And to this day, I've never had a real job.

I decided that jobs in my life were going to be for one of two reasons.

Joy or learning.

If I really enjoyed doing something, then I would gladly do it AND get a paycheck every month.

I loved playing video games, so I could be a play tester.

I loved problem solving, so I thought about being a business consultant.

I was extremely fascinated by film and videography, so I could be a video editor.

And I actually did. Even though I was never formally employed, I freelanced video projects for many companies and non-profits to make money throughout college.

If you would do it for free, then you should do it for money.

The second reason to get a job was to learn. There's so much I wanted to learn and there's no better way than on the job.

If I want to get good at making pizzas, I'll start applying to pizza shops.

If I want to get good at fitness to build my dream body, I'll work at a gym for a personal trainer.

If I want to learn how to fly planes, maybe I'll start by becoming a flight attendant.

Who cares if they're paying me minimum wage?!

Generating income WHILE learning is the opposite of paying tens of thousands TO learn.

And that's exactly why I chose to drop out of college.

I realized early on that there was nothing stopping me from creating a win-win situation for myself.

I dropped out and stopped paying exorbitant fees to learn things I had no interest in.

Now I work on business everyday where I work on something I love.

AND I'm learning so much in the process.

Don't let society force you into a lose-win situation.

Work. Add value. And provide for yourself.

But always do work you love. Or work to learn and grow.

And if you're really lucky...

In progress,

Tim

Reply

or to participate.