• Work In Progress
  • Posts
  • The One Subject In High School You Actually Need For Success

The One Subject In High School You Actually Need For Success

There is one subject that has been a key factor to my continued life success.

When I was in middle school, I was obsessed with my grades.

I would go home and cry for twenty minutes straight when I got a "B" on an assignment.

It really hurt me deep down in my heart because I knew I could do better.

The letters my teachers scribbled in red ink on my worksheets were directly related to my happiness.

And it sucked.

I felt like I was the only middle schooler in the whole world that gave a rat's ass about my grades.

Everyone else was too focused on the next field day to care.

But then I got to high school and everything changed.

My friends (all 2.5 of them) became laser focused on their GPA.

They based their entire world around their grade point average and what it would look like by the time they graduated.

And for some reason, I woke up on my first day of high fschool and realized everything I was doing was a waste of time.

The science experiments, the random historic dates I was supposed to remember, and the difference between a colon and a semicolon were all so irrelevant.

I came to the conclusion that schooling and the mindless obsession with your "grades" was all an illusion.

I gave up on the school system.

And now nearly ten years later, I'm glad I didn't let a silly GPA destroy me.

But I've thought hard about my educational career and realized there is one subject that has been a key factor to my continued life success.

And no it's not, homeroom lol.

It's math.

Math is the only subject that I can confidently say can make or break your overall success in life.

And I know you're thinking, that's obvious because you need math to know how to do go with your finances.

You're right. But there's so much more to it.

Math is important because many goals in life will never be achieved with one big grand event.

Success rarely ever happens overnight.

The greatest, grandest success will always be a result of many small actions compounded over time.

Every game worth winning, at it's core, is a numbers game.

Including life itself.

If you want to get 10 million Youtube subscribers. You should start small and ask yourself, how can I get 1 new subscriber each day.

If you want to travel to 100 states by the end of your life, you need to start with the challenge of traveling to one a year.

If you want to build a skyscraper, you can't just copy and paste the one across the street. You have to build all 50+ stories one floor at a time.

The students that understand math, understand that every big number is just a lot of small numbers added together.

Another key value of math is simply being able to manage the finances that you do have.

There are stories of janitors making minimum wage for decades and still being able to amass a million dollars of wealth.

That's because they took their seemingly average income and used the power of math to grow it by many multiples.

Think of how many A-list actors, football stars, or billboard charting musicians end up broke less than a decade later.

You can make all the money you want. If you don't know how to use math to manage it, you'll be screwed.

And then of course, if you're really into math you know that compounding interest has been said to be one of the last wonders of the world.

That is simply the beauty of investing.

And you can certainly get rich without investing, but it's the only way to truly become wealthy.

Math is my first love.

And although I don't study it like I did when I was younger, I still see her beauty everywhe...

In progress,

Tim

Reply

or to participate.