3 Things You Should Be Cutting Out For Maximum Success

Never get so obsessed with growth that you forget to cut out the negative.

Hey there fellow WIPs,

Today we reached 99 subscribers to our newsletter!

That’s super exciting.

We’re one person away from reaching a major milestone.

Thank you all for opening, reading, and sharing.

This is progress in it’s purest form.

And I hope we all use it as inspiration.

Today I’m sharing a few things we should cut out of our lives that can impede on our growth.

Hope you enjoy!

Tim Lightwork

All growth isn’t good growth.

So in other words, all publicity isn’t good publicity.

I know mega famous celebrities like Logan Paul, Joe Rogan, and Kanye would love to differ.

But if you’re scared to go outside alone for a walk, chances are you gained some enemies in your “fan base”.

All things that grow and expand will need seasons of cutting and constriction.

If you looked at your front lawn and said, all growth is good growth, 6 months later you’d be living in a jungle.

That’s because while the flowers, grass, and shrubs will quickly flourish, so will the weeds.

And if you don’t cut those weeds and tend to your garden, eventually you’ll kill the garden all the growth with it.

So never get so obsessed with growth and progress that you forget to cut out the negative.

It may dwindle the numbers, vary the stats, or ruin the perfect charts going up and to the right.

But it will pay off in the long run with a healthier and more realistic journey.

Here’s 3 things you should be cutting out for maximum success.

1) True non-believers.

The best part of growing in any area of life, is finding your tribe in the process.

As I build my startup, I’ve met many other founders and learned from their stories.

My social channels are much more active with entrepreneurs that are going through similar journeys of me.

And I love that.

But on the other hand, I have slowly accumulated a list of people that want me to fail.

There are people that do everything in their power to see me lose.

They will talk badly about my business, they will try to spread lies, and they will even try to get inside info to copy my secret tactics.

The internet calls these people haters, I call them non-believers.

And it’s one thing for someone to not see your vision.

Maybe mom doesn’t understand how you can make money running a popular YouTube channel.

But it’s another thing to actively work against your YouTube channel to see it fail.

That’s what I call a true non-believer.

And you should be cutting true non-believers out of your life every chance you get.

They will drain your energy, time, effort, money, and eventually your very own belief.

Never be afraid to cut out the people who are “anti-you”.

Peace of mind is priceless.

2) Unnecessary expenses.

Speaking of prices, we as humans have a tendency to purchase things that we really don’t need.

Maybe it’s excitement, curiosity, or just not wanting to feel left out, but there are many purchases we make that we simply don’t need.

And we know exactly what they are.

For me, I’ve been paying for a Starz and Showtime entertainment subscription for months even though I’m only ever watching YouTube.

That’s a plain waste of money.

And if I don’t tend to my money carefully, someone will gladly do it for me…when it’s all gone from my pockets.

It’s really annoying and tedious but you should be looking through your bank statements at the beginning of every year to cut out all expenses that aren’t serving you.

I do this every quarter just because.

And to be extra safe, there are days I’ll just get up and literally cut my bank card into two.

That’s what real cutting out of your life looks like.

And as annoying as it is, I’m much more financially responsible because I have to RE-sign up to every service, subscription and company by hand.

No random 4.99 candy crush subscriptions slipping through the crack over here.

3) Extra projects.

This year I learned that one of the most important things I can protect in my life, is my time.

And the best way to protect that is to stop giving it away like it’s an unlimited resource.

It’s not.

It may not feel that way, but we absolutely have a limit to the time we get on this Earth.

For ambitious people like me and you, it’s easy to give that time away dreaming of new fun projects.

A friend tells us they want to build an app, so we decide to learn how to code.

A boss tells us they’re hosting some cool community event, so we decide to be involved.

We see a random YouTube video of someone converting their garage into a man cave, so we dedicate the next 3 summers to doing the same.

There’s so much to do and so little time to do it.

You have to cut some of these projects out.

There’s nothing wrong with a passion project here or there.

But every additional project you add, dilutes the passion they need to succeed.

It’s great skill to learn how to say “no” more often and at the right times.

But seeing as though we’re already well into this year, I know many of us have already overfilled our plate with nice-to-have projects.

Cut them out.

Send a text, an email, or just don’t show if you have to.

But every project should go through a rigorous filtering stage, so that you can dedicate the little time you have to the things that matter.

Those are 3 different things you should be cutting out right now.

If you don’t cut out the good from the bad, you’re just watching your garden turn into a jungle.

Take the time now to cut out the true non-believers, the unnecessary expenses, and most importantly the extra projects.

Your life and your garden will be much healthier because of it…

In progress,

Tim

P.S. - I think you might like this 😉 

Reply

or to participate.